Biodiversity Strategy and further environmental protection regulations of the EU

The EU Biodiversity Strategy of 2020 consists of 6 areas of activity, in which specific targets are to be achieved before the end of 2020:

  1. Protect species and habitats
  2. Maintain and restore ecosystems
  3. Achieve more sustainable agriculture and forestry
  4. Make fishing more sustainable and seas healthier
  5. Combat invasive alien species
  6. Help stop the loss of global biodiversity.

Further information:

Portal of the EU Biodiversity Strategy 2020: Online Version

Text of the EU biodiversity strategy: European Commission, Our life insurance, our natural capital: an EU biodiversity strategy to 2020, May 2011. Online Version

Overview of the EU Action Plan of 2006: Online Version

Text of the EU Action Plan: Commission of the European Communities (2006): "Halting the Loss of Biodiversity by 2010 – and beyond. Sustaining ecosystem services for human well–being." Online Version

Review of the development of the EU Biodiversity Strategy (1979-2014), the strategy of 1998 included: Online Version

Species and Habitat Protection in the EU

The realisation of the first aim of the CBD, namely the protection of species and habitats, shall be achieved in the EU mainly through the successful and comprehensive implementation of existing regulations with the same aim. Central measures are the establishment of the network of protection areas Natura 2000 and the issuing of the Habitats Directive and the Birds Directive.

Natura 2000 is a Europe-wide connected network of protection areas, in which the necessary measures for the conservation of biological diversity shall be met. The network consists of the areas of the Birds Directive and the Habitats Directive. The Birds Directive came into force in 1979. Its aim is to protect the European bird population and, particularly, migratory birds. The introduction of the Habitats Directive followed in 1992. Besides the protection of the habitats of species through declaration of protection areas, the Habitats Directive prescribes specific protection responsibilities with regard to the handling of the majority of species included in the Birds Directive as well as further animal and plant species. Natura 2000 comprises 18% of the EU’s land and 6% of its water. With over 1 Million km² it is the largest network of protection areas of the world.

The EU Commission has assembled the central directives, strategies and aims of Natura 2000 and its associated bird and habitat protection in an overview portal:

European Commission, Natura 2000: Online Version

Further information:

Federal Agency for Nature Conservation (BfN): "The EU Habitats Directive." Online Version

Wird geladen